If you have ever considered taking a Facebook vacation or directly eliminating your account forever, you should know that the social network gives you the opportunity to do either. In fact today we are going to explain step by step how you can do them.
But we already warned you from the beginning that it is not a simple and fast process. Facebook account is not interested in you leaving, and maybe that’s why it puts a lot of obstacles to try to prevent you from doing it. In fact, the option to delete your facebook account cannot be found in the configuration options, and you will have to search a little more.
Difference between disabling and deleting your account
By default, what Facebook is going to let you do is deactivate your account. Looking for the option you can also eliminate it, but in the options of the social network, there is only the option to deactivate. To see how much you want to leave Facebook, let’s start by explaining the difference between the two.
Deactivating your account is a temporary measure. You can re-activate it whenever you want, although while it is disabled the rest of users will not be able to look for you or see your biography. Of course, it is possible that some information, such as the messages you send, are still present and some people can access them.
Deleting your account is a definitive measure, so once done, you will not be able to recover it. Once the removal is requested Facebook will tell you that it will take fourteen days to proceed with the deletion, and if you re-enter your facebook account at that time, the procedure will be canceled. As for your personal data, Facebook can take up to 90 days to remove them from your database.
Still, Facebook warns that it is possible that copies of some materials remain in your database, although they promise that without your personal data. You also have to keep in mind that your messages that a friend may have will not be deleted since these are also stored in the account of the recipient and not only in yours.
How to deactivate your account
Let’s start by explaining how to deactivate your account. The first step is to enter the Facebook account settings. You can do it by displaying the menu that appears when you click the down arrow icon that you have at the top right of the whole. Among the options that will appear, choose the Configuration option.
Once you are in the Configuration menu, click on the Security option in the bar on the left. Among the list of options that will appear when you do, underneath the whole, you will see one that is called Deactivate your account. It’s the one you have to go to by clicking on its Edit button.
When you click on it, a message will appear informing you of the consequences of deactivating your account in the social network. It is a mere informative process, and to overcome it you have to click on the link of the phrase Deactivate your account. You will immediately be asked to enter your password.
Then Facebook will blackmail you emotionally. It will put the photos of your friends telling you that they will miss you. Below these photos, you will see a questionnaire that you will have to fill in, and in which you will have to tell them why you have decided to leave.
Choose the reason you choose, Facebook will propose an alternative to you leaving. If you do not want to pay attention to it, click on the close button of the alternative window (the X at the top right), and then continue with the deletion by pressing the blue button Deactivate from the bottom of the questionnaire. It will ask you for a new confirmation, in which you must press Deactivate now.
The hidden option to eliminate it definitively
If you want to delete your facebook account permanently, you will first have to find the option. In the FAQ of the social network there is a page What do I have to do to delete my facebook account permanently? , in which hidden in the text you have a link in the word tell us that takes you to the elimination page. If you do not want to search, the address is www.facebook.com/help/delete_account.
When entering that link, you will go to a page where you have to enter your password and a captcha. We warn you in advance that you do not expect a simple Captcha, and that the letters are very likely to be barely distinguishable. If you do not clarify with the one that has touched you, you can ask him to show another text or use an audio Captcha.
We have needed several attempts to solve the Captcha, so do not worry if the same thing happens to you. Once you have achieved it, you will reach the last window, in which you are notified that your account has been suspended and that if you do not agree to it within the next 14 days, it will be deleted. Therefore, all you have to do is click OK and wait.
Necessary cookies are absolutely essential for the website to function properly. This category only includes cookies that ensures basic functionalities and security features of the website. These cookies do not store any personal information.
Any cookies that may not be particularly necessary for the website to function and is used specifically to collect user personal data via analytics, ads, other embedded contents are termed as non-necessary cookies. It is mandatory to procure user consent prior to running these cookies on your website.